Home » Awards, Featured, Football

Nat’l Football Foundation awards ceremony

Posted by on January 11, 2013 – 6:28 pm

The Valley of the Sun chapter of the National Football Foundation held their annual luncheon banquet on Friday afternoon.

It featured keynote speakers Arizona State coach Todd Graham and Arizona coach Rich Rodriguez, along with several high school football players and state championship coaches during the 90-minute program.

In honoring the best high school players in the state for the 2012 season. Among them:

Curley Culp award (top defensive lineman):  Eddie Ginannina (Glendale Mountain Ridge)
Frank Kush award (top offensive lineman:  Patrick Joseph (Hamilton)
Ron Pritchard award (linebacker):  Robert Relf (Brophy)
Danny White award (quarterback):   Darell Garretson (Chandler)

Members of the Arizona Football Coaches Association’s “Super 25” team were also honored:


QB:  Ryan Finley (Paradise Valley)

RB:  Mauriece Lee (Marcos de Niza), Seivion Morris (Westview)

WR:  Nate Phillips (Basha), Paul Elvira (Marcos de Niza)

TE:  Matt Bushman (Sabino)

OL:   Cody King (Desert Ridge),   Casey Tucker (Hamilton),  Andrew Mike (Sabino),   Billy Nichols (Pinnacle),  Robert Colema (Ironwood Ridge)


DL:  Qualen Cunningham (Hamilton),   Drake Danielson (Queen Creek),  Antonio Zepeda (Camelback),   Frank Olgas (Morenci).

LB:   Santana Sterling (Hamilton),   Robert Relf (Brophy),  Chans Cox (Blue Ridge).

DB:    Priest Willis (Marcos de Niza),  Cole Luke (Hamilton),  Kyle Woolard (Desert Edge),  Jalen Ortiz (Centennial).


Kick returner:   Kani Benoit (Thunderbird)

Punter:  A.J. Thigpen (Hamilton)

Kicker:    Kolby Gregory (Mountain Ridge)

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a comment

Add your comment below. You can also subscribe to these comments via RSS

Be nice. Keep it clean. Stay on topic. No spam.

You can use these tags:

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong> 

This is a Gravatar-enabled weblog. To get your own globally-recognized-avatar, please register at Gravatar