Home » Featured, Wrestling

Flowing Wells, Nate Johnson wrestling invitationals on tap

Posted by on January 16, 2013 – 12:39 pm

The Flowing Wells Invitational, perhaps the biggest wrestling tournament of the regular season, along with Red Mountain’s annual Nate Johnson invitational both fall this weekend, making it a honeymoon of sorts for Arizona high school wrestling before sectional meets commence the last weekend in January.

47th annual Flowing Wells Invitational

Tucson Ironwood Ridge is the defending tournament champion (and two-time defending state champions in Div. II).  Chandler (Div. I state champions) and Thunderbird (Div. III state champions) are also in the mix.

Schools participating:  Amphitheater, Basha, Boulder Creek, Brophy, Canyon del Oro, Carl Hayden, Centennial, Chandler, Cibola, Cienega, Corona del Sol, Desert Mountain, Desert Vista, Eage Crest (Colo.), Flowing Wells, Hamilton, Highland, Horizon, Ironwood Ridge,  Mountain View (Marana), Marcos de Niza, Maryvale, Mountain View (Mesa), Mingus, Montwood (Texas), Paradise Valley, Pueblo, Queen Creek, Rio Rico, Safford, Sahuarita, Silver, (NM), Socorro (Tex.), Sunnyside, Thunderbird, Tucson High and Willcox.

Schedule:  Jan. 18:  First round 10:30 a.m. to completion; Second round 7 p.m. to completion. Jan. 19:   Third round 10 a.m. to completion. Fourth round 6 p.m. to 9 p.m. (finals).

Nate Johnson Memorial Invitational

Nate Johnson attended Red Mountain H.S. from 1988-1990, and lettered in both wrestling and football.  In 1990, two weeks before the beginning of wrestling season, Nate died in an automobile accident.

Pool matches with everyone in their respective pool wrestling against everyone else in their pool.  Dobson has won this tournament three consecutive years.

Red pool: Red Mountain, Sandra Day O’Connor, Basha, Hamilton, Seton, Valley Vista, Williams Field, Millennium and Mesquite.  Black pool:  Mesa, Dobson, Desert Ridge, Pinnacle, Skyline, North, Mountain Ridge and Higley.

Schools participating:  Basha, Desert Ridge, Dobson, Hamilton, Higley, Mesa, Mesquite, Millennium, Mountain Ridge, North, Pinnacle, Red Mountain, Sandra Day O’Connor, Seton Catholic, Skyline, Valley Vista and Williams Field.

Schedule:   Jan. 18:   9 a.m.  with final matches of the day at 7 p.m.   Jan. 19:   Pool matches continue at 9 a.m. and until approx. 2:30 p.m.  Cross pool play (R5 vs. B5; R4 vs. B4 and R3 vs. B3) are 4 p.m.  Championship (R1 vs. B1) and third-place (R2 vs. B2) matches are 5 p.m.

Click here for more information


Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a comment

Add your comment below. You can also subscribe to these comments via RSS

Be nice. Keep it clean. Stay on topic. No spam.

You can use these tags:

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong> 

This is a Gravatar-enabled weblog. To get your own globally-recognized-avatar, please register at Gravatar