Home » Awards, Baseball, Headline

Desert Ridge SS Riley Unroe earns D-I baseball coaches POY

Posted by on May 21, 2013 – 3:06 pm

The Arizona Baseball Coaches Association has released its All-State teams for each of the four divisions. Here are the East Valley players who made the list, led by Desert Ridge shortstop Riley Unroe, who was chosen as the Division I Player of the Year.

Division I

Player of the Year – Riley Unroe, Desert Ridge

Coach of the Year – Brian Stephenson, Desert Mountain

First team: Ben Rodriguez, Sr., C, Desert Mountain; Cody Bellinger, Sr., 1B, Hamilton; David Greer, Sr., 3B, Desert Ridge; Dustin Peterson, Sr., SS, Gilbert; M.J. Hubbs, Sr., OF, Pinnacle; Dillon Bigcrane-Jackson, Sr., OF, Chaparral; Brock Hale, Sr., OF, Mesa; Cody Erickson, Sr., OF, Desert Mountain.

Second team: Jack Zoellner, Sr., 1B, Gilbert; Cam Richins, Sr., 2B, Desert Ridge; Jake Smith, Sr., 3B, Highland; Jamie Westbrook, Sr., SS, Basha; Tyler Viza, Sr., Util, Desert Vista; Zac Cordova, Sr., P, Mountain Pointe; Skyler Cohn, Sr., P, Desert Ridge.

Division II

Coach of the Year – Brian Fisher, Notre Dame

First team: Ryan Scott, Sr., C, Notre Dame; Nick Affronti, Sr., 1B, Notre Dame; Matt Haggerty, Sr., OF, Seton Catholic; Devon Deraad, Sr., Util, Notre Dame.

Second team: Chris Kobar, Jr., C, Williams Field; Chandler Crow, Sr., 3B, Paradise Valley; Ryan Rodriguez, Sr., OF, Campo Verde; Austin Schnabel, Sr., P, Notre Dame.

Division III

First team: Nathaniel Ellingsen, Sr., C, Scottsdale Christian; Carter Gladstone, Sr., OF, Valley Christian.

Second team: Ryan Johnson, Sr., 1B, Combs; Zach Scott, Sr., 2B, Scottsdale Christian.

Division IV

Second team: Forrest Redlin, Sr., P, Tempe Prep.

Tags: , , , ,

2 Pingbacks »

    Leave a comment

    Add your comment below. You can also subscribe to these comments via RSS

    Be nice. Keep it clean. Stay on topic. No spam.

    You can use these tags:

    <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong> 

    This is a Gravatar-enabled weblog. To get your own globally-recognized-avatar, please register at Gravatar